Awards Overview and Deadlines

The AOCA is full of talented members and the anesthesiology community continues to make valuable contributions to public health, education, scientific discovery and leadership. AOCA provides opportunities for members and professionals with the specialty to be recognized and lift up their colleagues. Public recognition culminates at the Conclave held at the Annual Convention.

The College is pleaed to announce the nomination period is open for all listed recognitions below and will close April 1st, 2022. All awards are reviewed by the Board of Governors for final approval.

Fellow of the American Osteopathic College of Anesthesiologists (FAOCA)

Earned through active participation in the College and the profession.

  • A Candidate is nominated by any member of the College
  • An existing Fellow must Sponsor a candidate with a letter of support.  
  • DEADLINE for submissions is April 1. 
  • View nomination process

Timothy D. Ernst Memorial Scholarship

Recognizes up to two Resident members for their leadership and scholarship. The Timothy D. Ernst’s Memorial Scholarship is designated to provide residents with an opportunity to attend the AOCA Annual Convention in honor of Dr. Timothy D. Ernst who had a passion for education and always strived to help and mentor residents. 

  • Nomination made by a Program Director. 
  • DEADLINE for nomination is April 18.
  • Nomination Form

Distinguished Service Award 

The Distinguished Service Award is presented to recognize College members with outstanding accomplishments and leadership in the American Osteopathic College of Anesthesiologists. 

Adele M. King Professional Service Award

The Adele M. King Professional Service Award recognizes an individual who has made contributions to the specialty of anesthesiology, public health, education, scientific discovery and/or leadership. Dedicated to AOCA member and Past President, Dr. Adele King who throughout her career has made beyond valuable contributions to these areas of which the award honors. 

Nominees do not need to be a member of the College to be submitted.

Scientific Abstract Presentations

An abstract poster session held each year during VAPOR - Annual Convention and Conclave. Abstracts are accepted in two categories, complex case and scientific discovery.

  • Abstract submissions will open a few months prior to the Annual Convention in September.
  • Resident and Students presenters eligible for monetary recognition for first and second place in each category.

Arnold P. Gold Humanism in Medicine Award

Criteria is based upon the Arnold P. Gold’s Foundation on the attributes of a humanistic doctor: Integrity, Excellence, Compassion, Altruism, Respect, Empathy, & Service. AOCA is proud to partner with the Arnold P. Gold Foundation and share candidates. Nominees do not need to be a member of the College to be submitted.